Your Black Sports: Usain Bolt – Greatest Sprinter in History?

August 16, 2008

BEIJING: Not even Usain Bolt knows how fast he can run the 100 meters because no one seems to be able to challenge the world’s fastest man all the way to the finish line.

“Lightning” Bolt broke his own world record on Saturday to capture the Olympic 100m title in 9.69 seconds, lowering the old mark of 9.72 he set May 31 in New York, but he was strides ahead before the line and celebrating early.

“As soon as I saw I had covered the field and I knew I would win, I started to celebrate,” Bolt said.

“I don’t really know (how fast I can go). I even could be 9.60. I can’t really say. People have been saying I could run 9.60 but I haven’t seen the replay so I can’t comment.”

Bolt’s stirring victory over Trinidad and Tobago’s Richard Thompson, who took a distant second on 9.89, brought Jamaica the first men’s 100 gold medal in the nation’s illustrious sprint history.

“This means a lot to my country and it means a lot to me,” Bolt said.
“I came here to prove I’m the best in the world and I did that. I’ve trained and worked hard for years to prepare for this. My aim was to come here and be Olympic champion and I did that.”

Bolt, who turns 22 next Thursday, was disappointed that American Tyson Gay, who ran a wind-aided 9.68 to win the US trials, failed to qualify for the final, placing fifth in his semi-final heat.

“I was telling Tyson all season that I was wanting to race him at the Olympics. I wanted to see him in that final because I’m looking forward to competing with him,” Bolt said.

Click to Read.

 

Leave a Reply

